Renewal

I write a lot.  An awful lot.  Most of the time, though, it’s hundreds of words on Facebook posts, and I started this blog partly as a way to divert that.  I got caught up in the dichotomy, though – while I try to be certain that everything I write has evidence to back it up, I’ve felt that FB posts don’t need the links right in the text and can be found for people if they request sources later, whereas with blog posts I haven’t wanted to write until I can be sure that everything is backed up with links and footnotes already in it.  And, since that stifles the flow of words, it’s meant I’ve let the blog slide.

I want to get back to it, though, and to do that I think I need to be a little less stringent.  This isn’t academic work, so I will link to evidence where and when it doesn’t interrupt the actual writing, but while my opinions might be my own, I’ll still only try to state facts where I can back them up.  If you ever want evidence, let me know and I’ll look the source out.  If I was wrong, I’ll edit to amend it.  But mostly I think I just need to write.

I’ll be posting a few of my older FB post every now and then, either because they’re still relevant or because I think it was important at the time. And I’ll be opening up the subject matter a bit from Scottish politics, politics in general and disability, though not too much.

Leave a Reply

